What's the rarest stamp in your collection?

Discussion in 'Stamp Chat' started by nightarcher, Aug 7, 2012.

1. nightarcher

nightarcher New Member

I'm wondering what your rarest stamp is. I'm still fairly new to stamp collecting, so most of the ones in my collection aren't that rare at all, and I'm also not too familiar with what the rarest stamps are.

2. Larry L. Taylor

Larry L. Taylor Active Member

Not sure. Rarest or most expensive? I have what I believe to be a US Scott #128 (have not had it expertised - yet). If it were to be that stamp and for it's condition (well-centered, all perfs intact, light cancellation, no thins) it would catalog somewhere between $2-3k. Otherwise, I guess it would be my US Graf Zepplin set. The 'desire' for the Zepplin set no doubt drives the price more than for the #128.

3. MarginBlocks

MarginBlocks New Member

The USA Riverboats strip of 5, a self-adhesive pane of 20 32-cent stamps with special interrupted die cuts, issued in 1995. Only about 8000 panes were sold by Kansas City for about a month. I own three full panes and have never separated them into strips of blocks.

I have a few USA press sheets that have special features, and many of the print runs on press sheets are very low.

4. Nostalgia

Nostalgia New Member

wow that is very impressive! My collection is still in the works as I am rebuilding. I havent had anything looked at by an expert yet but Im assuming I have some pretty common stuff so far.

5. Mrs. Emelda Senegal

Mrs. Emelda Senegal New Member

https://www.google.com/webhp?source...f.&fp=4c4e4dd9cacdc02d&ion=1&biw=1440&bih=755

My most rare stamp has to be my 1841 letter express strip of three 5 cent Goddess of Commerce black on pink glazed paper
    $ 10,000+ My second has to be inverted surcharge First Peking Junk stamp. my third has to be my New Zealand Chalon Vermillion