Stamp Shops - Review/comments

Discussion in 'Stamp Chat' started by alex candy, Nov 8, 2017.

1. alex candy

alex candy New Member

Hi

I am fairly new to stamp collecting and have so far only visited a few stores. As Stamp shops seam to be closing all the time. I thought I would start this thread. The idea is that we add reviews and address of the stamp shops that we visit.

France

Paris

Yvert & Tellier
    23 rue Drouot, 75009 PARIS

-Small store on a side street
    -Of course had the full range of Yvert & Tellier Books
    -Few stamps, but seemed expensive
    -Two members of staff, very friendly and spoke some English

Dijon

Dijon Philatélique
    17 Place Darcy, 21000 Dijon

-Large store, about the size of a small supermarket...but filled with stock. Stamps in boxes, folders etc. Stamps in boxes stacked from floor to ceiling, the area for customers to stand in is about 1m square. This is not the sort of store you are going to walk around and browse. Its a bit like walking into a storage unit. Nothing is on display.
    -A few books but mainly stamps
    -Two members of staff. The owner is an older guy who speaks very good english. Always happy to chat and very friendly. It is however a case of asking for something and he goes and finds it rather than having a look.
    -One thing to note, the owner keeps traditional French hours. i.e.closes for lunch and in August only opens a couple of afternoons a week.

United Kingdom

London

Stanley Gibbons
    399 Strand, London WC2R 0LX

-Very smart store, on a very smart street
    -Full range of Stanley Gibbons books, stock books, Vario type plastic sheets, magazines etc
    -Expensive stamps behind glass in display cases. In the centre of the floor there are pages from stock books and albums. Each page is priced individually. They also have a couple of bins with bags of mixed stamps.