off centered stamps

Discussion in 'United States Stamps' started by Koen, Mar 25, 2012.

1. Koen

Koen Member

Do off centered stamps have more or less value then nicely centered ones?
    And howmuch off cener do they need to be to have some value?

Just wondering

2. Equinox

Equinox Member

Im no expert, but I would say an misperf stamp would have a higher value that regular in the case of modern stamps nearly 10 out of 10 times. However in the case of any Victorian to Edward VI issues it is important for the stamp to be well centerd with an equal margin all around, and in this case only stamps which are severely misperf to the stage where it is highly noticeable and unusual that the value would be increased!

Hope this helps out at all!
    Like I said I'm no expert and would imagine that others could help you out far than me!

3. Jay

Jay Well-Known Member

Strive to acquire stamps with the best centering you can find and/or afford because they command the highest prices. An off centered stamp is not considered as collectable and the more off center it is the less likely it's worth much of anything and certainly less than catalog value. If it is mis-perforated say down through half the stamp design it might be considered an E.F.O. (Error, Freak, Oddity) and is only really collected by error collectors but it would really have to be something out there to be considered highly valuable/collectable. Hope this helps some.

4. Koen

Koen Member

Thank you for the info.
    I asked this in the knowledge that off centered coins (when they are off centered enough) have a certain value.
    I tought fr stamps it would be the same.

5. Jay

Jay Well-Known Member

I am also a numismatist and sadly no, stamps are printed and coins are minted.

6. Philactica

Philactica Active Member

Stamps off center more than 5mm are oddities but if you get blocks or mutiples of missperforations they can get pricey View attachment 2156

Tom D and steve logan like this.
  7. Jay