New to stamp collecting

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Tom D, Nov 23, 2011.

1. Tom D

Tom D Well-Known Member

Hi I'm Tom and I'm new to collecting stamps, (about 4 months). I am interested in United States stamps and world stamps. I never thought stamp collecting could be so fun and enlightening.

2. desertgem

desertgem Active Member

Hi Tom, welcome to the forum. It is a hobby that can be actively pursued, set aside for a while for life to happen, and picked up again and is just as binding. Bets to your endeavors.

Jim

3. Steve Robinson

Steve Robinson Well-Known Member Supporter

Welcome to the forum Tom :D

4. Sam B

Sam B Active Member

welcome to the forum, and share some of your interest or thoughts of what you are starting to collect and maybe someone here can help you get started a little easier:D

5. zararina

zararina Simply Me! :D

Hello Tom and welcome to the forum.
    Nice to have you here and hope that you will continuously find stamps collecting as a fun hobby. ;)

6. Darrin

Darrin Active Member

Welcome to the Forum, Tom. Nice to see a fellow Michigander on board. I just realized you are about an hour drive east of me....Perhaps we have met at some of the shows here in Grand Rapids...

7. Tom D

Tom D Well-Known Member

Hi Darrin,
    As I said new to stamp collecting, so what shows, Where do I find out about them? I have gotten the most help since I joined the Stamp Exchange Forum. It really is a new family of friends to me.

Tom

8. steve logan

steve logan Logie Bear

We
    welcome to the forum Tom, i look forward to a new persons imput, and yes it can be very exciting, every time i get a stamp i do not already own i get a real buzz while i log it and place in to whatever album has been waiting for it lol.

as a newbie to the scene i am sure you will have plenty of them moments to start with

if you want to send me your address in conversation, i will send you a pack of mixed stamps to help you on you on your way

Steve

9. Tom D