I need your eyes please? (I can't find the grill)

Discussion in 'United States Stamps' started by Jay, May 21, 2012.

1. Jay

Jay Well-Known Member

I been looking through some #114's lately and seem to have found one that I just can't see a grill on, or any evidence of one so- I need your highly trained eyes to help look for it. Tell me what you think please? I may send it out for I.D. and if it comes back as a #125 then I'll entertain getting a PSE cert but that's all highly doubtful as I been down this road already...lol

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. kacyds

kacyds New Member

Try your early morning sunrise trick again..........good luck.

3. Tom D

Tom D Well-Known Member

Ok I am new to Grills. What is "early morning sunrise trick"?

4. Steve Robinson

Steve Robinson Well-Known Member Supporter

Nope can not see one :(

5. Jay

Jay Well-Known Member

I did and still nothing!

well the sun comes up over the mountains and is straight out from me so it's shining directly across my stamp desk so any little indented details (like a grill) show up like you wouldn't believe! It's like holding a bright light at an oblique angle to see the ridges of a coin.

6. Tom D

Tom D Well-Known Member

OK

The one I have, I scanned at 1,200 DPI with color, black and white, with a white back ground and a black back ground and seen nothing and seen what my mind wanted to see, basically nothing.

7. Tom D

Tom D Well-Known Member

And I thought water marks were fun. boy o boy

8. Jay

Jay Well-Known Member

they are supposed to have a grill. There are 114's with no grill and the reprints #125 but I think to have a PSE cert done it needs to have the original gum. Not sure on that?

Tom I'm not sure I know what you mean?

9. Jay

Jay Well-Known Member

This is the other one I found the grill on using the sunrise trick:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

10. Tom D

Tom D Well-Known Member