how do i tell if these stamps are valuable .

Discussion in 'What's it Worth?' started by kristazzzz, Jan 24, 2019.

1. kristazzzz

kristazzzz New Member

I am new to stamp collecting and i have some stamps and from what i see so far i believe these stamps are valuable but i dont know how to go about checking them . can someone please give me some input on what to do?

Attached Files:

2. DonSellos

DonSellos Well-Known Member

Hi kristazzzz:

The stamps you show are what are known as definitive stamps, that is they are from a series of stamps of different denominations used to pay the everyday postage rate of items such as post cards, letters, packages certified letters, etc. The one cent stamp you posted may have come off a post card or perhaps were used as added postage to pay a first-class letter rate The 3 cents and 4 cents stamps, most likely, were used to pay the first-class letter rate at different time periods.

All were printed in hundreds of millions of copies and sold by the post offices for years. The 3 cents stamp with the image of Thomas Jefferson was in use from 1938 to 1954 and its printing numbers may have reached one billion copies. Regrettably, none of stamps posted are valuable. However, that is not unusual. Most stamps collected are not especially valuable. I would guess that 95% of the stamps I have collected over the past fifty years are common stamps and readily available in the 5 cents to $5.00 range.

Most collectors, I believe, collect stamps simply for a stamp's attractiveness and the quest to find specific ones, and less so for their value.

If you have others to post, let us see them. While not likely, it is nevertheless possible that you might have a valuable one or two.

Don

Harry Golightly likes this.
  3. kristazzzz

kristazzzz New Member

Thank you for taking the time to get back to us . You have been very helpful . Do you know anything about war bonds I think they are called ? Again thank you so much

Attached Files: