Hello from BHUTAN

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Namsay, Oct 14, 2013.

1. Namsay

Namsay New Member

KUZUZANGPO and Hi everyone,
    I am Namsa Dorji from The Kingdom of Bhutan, a Himalayan Landlocked Country. I am a Medical Doctor by profession.I started liking stamps since my 5th grade but I lacked proper guidance and knowledge regarding the hobby and couldn't prosper until I went to my medical school. Recently I returned to my old passion of collecting stamps and wanted to meet people around the world with similar interest. Obviously I am just a beginner so I hope to learn from you all alot. I could never meet any collector from my country so far..seems stamp collection is not famous in Bhutan. but I love it.

can anyone tell me how you started as a collector,( your source of stamps..)and the best way of exchanging ( I saw people talking about exchanging in hundreds...if so it would be difficult for me ..) do give me some suggestions as to how to build up my collection and prosper as time goes by...
    with best regards and TRASHI DELEK
    Namsa Dorji
    BHUTAN

2. visitor

visitor Active Member

I'm pretty new to stamp collecting myself, but there are others here with lots of experience who will help you. I've learned a lot. Anyway, welcome!

Namsay likes this.
  3. Larry L. Taylor

Larry L. Taylor Active Member

Welcome to the wonderful, wide world of stamp collecting.

My dad's collection was what got me started. He had a box of spare stamps that I could delve into. Started in very simple albums, graduated into an album with yearly supplements, and eventually a specialty US album and a large, two-volume world-wide album by Minkus (still have that album, but it has grown to 28 volumes). All told, I'm not up to about 50 album volumes.