Ebay mixed bag good/bad

Discussion in 'Stamp Chat' started by Jim Shaver, Sep 11, 2015.

1. Jim Shaver

Jim Shaver Active Member

Hi all,
    I don't have my scanner up and running yet, but just wanted to share a few recent experiences with Ebay.
    I'm new to Ebay so still getting my legs under me...
    My surprise to find that I could find and win lots like Greenland Scott 10-18 The "American set" cat at $216 for $44.00.
    Or Scott 28-38 and 31a, cat $128 for $12.50!!!
    And other cost saving sets.
    But of course there's bad with good; like the the three blocks of four (at a cheap price) that weren't the shade varieties as stated...can't really tell colors from an Ebay scan....oh well.
    I'm sure your experiences are similar? Some good, some not so goo and the awww s**t kind.

SATX Collector likes this.
  2. Hochstrasse

Hochstrasse Moderator Moderator

Yes, I used to use Ebay quite a bit. I stopped about 5 years ago, but recently reclaimed my abandoned account. It's a good place for inexpensive stamps, but anything requiring shade identification, variety typing or perf identification that goes above an inexpensive price is best bought where examination is possible: at shows, from a dealer or at auctions. Good buys can be had there and there is a lot of variety and volume there. My experiences were generally good.

3. zararina

zararina Simply Me! :D

Still nice that you somehow win on that package. :)
    I have not tried ordering in eBay since the shipping cost will be usually higher than the actual cost of an item and I have experienced lost mails already. So better to buy on a collector's shop here for me than to order online.

4. James-2489

James-2489 Well-Known Member

Hello all,