Does anyone use software to keep track of inventory?

Discussion in 'Stamp Chat' started by goon712, Sep 25, 2012.

1. goon712

goon712 New Member

I was looking into getting some software to keep track of my stamp and coin collection. Does anyone use it and what is the best one? I have seen a couple and am investigating more.

Thanks in advance.

2. Peter T Davis

Peter T Davis Administrator Moderator

Well, I'm testing out some right now that would be able to plug into the next version of the software we're running on StampExchange.com. Might not be till the end of the year, but it looks good so far.

3. Steve Robinson

Steve Robinson Moderator Moderator

I tried one of the coin ones some time ago but couldnt get it to work so gave up LOL

4. Hochstrasse

Hochstrasse Well-Known Member

A number of years back I tried the Scott inventory program for US stamps. I wasn't really impressed by the limitations. I have been using Microsoft Excel for over 20 years and found it to be the best way to keep track of my collection. It's not for everyone, but it allows me completely control the information, the financial aspects and the layout.

SATX Collector and Peter T Davis like this.
  5. Larry L. Taylor

Larry L. Taylor Active Member

Personally, I've also found the Excel format to be more useful than the Scott software package. I use it to track values of my Canada collection (so far) based on whether they're mint or used.

I also generated a 'by country' listing of my foreign album volumes in Word, but am going to transfer that to Excel and then start adding up my stamp #'s by country. That way I can get an idea of what I have by country, by volume, and total. Keeping track of that info has been tedious, and I've not done a proper accounting in over 40 years.

Peter T Davis likes this.
  6. Don

Don New Member

One of the joys of collecting stamps (for me) is the toal independence of the net or electrical age. I like the old way of cataloguing.

7. Larry L. Taylor