3 cent Washington rose c grill?

Discussion in 'United States Stamps' started by Charles martens, Oct 5, 2014.

1. Charles martens

Charles martens New Member

This a c grill? Value? ImageUploadedByTapatalk1412551528.491948.jpg ImageUploadedByTapatalk1412551535.800940.jpg

2. Hochstrasse

Hochstrasse Moderator Moderator

A "C" grille is a pattern that measures 13 X 16 millimeters. It typically has 16 to 17 by 18 to 21 points to it. Verifying those facts usually requires good magnification and a good slim pointer. Value is entirely dependent on centering, condition, perfs and certification. The stamp shown if it were to be a genuine "C" grille would not be valued at catalogue price because of several flaws.

3. Charles martens

What grade would it be? I am brand new to stamps, and I am very eager to learn.

4. Hochstrasse

Since the perforations on the right side are into the design it would grade "fine" with faults. The faults include short perfs and pulled perf. I can't be sure but it looks as if there are very small tears on the right side as well.

5. Charles martens

Ok, thanks! I couldn't find anything on this stamp with a z grill? What would the value be? ImageUploadedByTapatalk1412681719.956400.jpg ImageUploadedByTapatalk1412681757.056206.jpg

6. Hochstrasse

Value is always what a buyer is willing to pay for something. The "Z" grille you have posted has F/VF centering with faults. I'm guessing the back scan has a "hinge remnant". Were it a genuine "Z" grille it would command a small fraction of it's catalogue value due to the short perfs and pulled perfs.

7. Charles martens

So it is or isn't?

8. Hochstrasse

It is impossible for me to tell from the scans whether either stamp is a "C" or "Z" grille. That is why I mentioned the pointer and illuminated magnification in my first comment. It isn't easy to measure grille patterns or count points even with a stamp at hand.

9. Charles martens